Wellington Property Investors' Association

04 472 9877 answerph


News & Updates

Recent updates


Landlord of the year nominations

25 July 2016 WnPIA Members Meeting

Angela Strang, the current Landlord of the Year will be coming to speak to us about the benefits of having good quality rentals. Angela has built up a portfolio of 9 properties at the young age of 30. She believes that creating good quality rentals is the key to her success. She finds tenants want to stay for longer, there are less maintenance issues and there's more income coming in. Come and hear her top tips for improving your portfolio vacancy rates.

Once again sponsored by the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment, the three judges have been confirmed as Hagen Tautari (representing MBIE), Pauline Beissel (representing the NZPIF Executive Committee) and Troy Churton an independent judge.  The prize for the winner is the Landlord of the Year Cup for a year, a framed certificate and $1,500.  The PIA to which the winner belongs receives $500. 

Closing date is 31 August.  

This Award seeks to identify and honour an excellent example of a landlord amongst the members of Property Investors’ Associations affiliated to the NZ Property Investors’ Federation

What are the criteria?

As the Award aims to highlight professionalism and good practice, the selection is based on the following criteria, with equal weight for each item.

  • Evidence of positive ongoing relationships with tenants.

  • The way the applicant conducts his or her business as a landlord.

Evidence of creativity and flair used in adding value to the asset and the community

Who may enter?

Members of affiliated PIAs, who manage all or some of their own properties, whether full time or part time, and regardless of the number of properties managed, are encouraged to enter. Download your entry form.

Entrants must be undertaking the obligations and responsibilities of landlords, not merely being listed on tenancy agreements as being landlords while their appointed agents manage the landlord/tenant relationships.

Members of the NZPIF Executive Committee and their families may not enter.

What does the winner receive?

The winner will hold the NZ Property Investors’ Federation/Ministry of Business Innovation and Employment Landlord of the Year Cup for one year and be given a framed citation as a permanent record.

He or she will also receive a cash prize of $1,500, which will be presented together with the Cup and the citation at the Gala Dinner of the 2016 NZPIF Conference to be held in New Plymouth from 14th to 1th October 2016.

The Association of which the winner is a member will receive a cash prize of $500

The one or two runners up will each receive a framed citation.

How will the entries be judged?

An independent judging panel of 3 persons with wide industry experience will be convened by the NZPIF Executive Committee to consider the entries received. The written applications and any supporting material will be assessed and inquiries may be made of an entrant's tenants and peers.  An entrant's properties may be viewed by way of kerbside inspections

How do I enter?

Closing date for the receiving of entries is 31 August 2016.

Download your entry form

Entries must be emailed to the NZPIF clearly marked ENTRY - LANDLORD OF THE YEAR 2016.

Email: admin@nzpif.org.nz;

.All entries will be acknowledged.

The decision of this Panel will be final and no correspondence will be entered into with entrants or their representatives.

Entrants and the selected winner will be expected to be available from time to time for promotional and public relation activities associated with the Award.

Previous winners of Landlord of the Year Award.

2008 - Andrea and Andrew Elliott, Otago Property Investors' Association

2009 - Debbie van den Broek, Rotorua Property Investors' Association

2010 - Nancy Caiger, Waikato Property Investors' Association

2011 - Award not presented

2012 - Dave and Stef Wade, Otago Property Investors' Association

2013 - Pauline Beissel, Manawatu Property Investors' Association.

2014 - Lyn Marshall, Nelson Property Investors' Association.

2015 – Angela Strang, Southland Property Investors’ Association


comments powered by Disqus